About Us



The Leonard L. Berry Marketing Book Award

(Nominations for the 2018 Award close April 6, 2018.)

The Leonard L. Berry Marketing Book Award recognizes books whose innovative ideas have had significant impact on marketing and related fields.  Created by distinguished author and professor Leonard L. Berry and his wife Nancy F. Berry through generous contributions to the American Marketing Association Foundation (AMAF), the prize was awarded for the first time in Fall 2002.

“Both as reader and writer, books have had a powerful influence in my growth and development as a marketing educator,” says Berry, Distinguished Professor of Marketing and M.B. Zale Chair in Retailing and Marketing Leadership in the Lowry Mays College of Business at Texas A&M University.  “Books open the door into a writer’s mind.  Authors assemble what might be years of research and thought into a small package we call a book and share new ideas and expression with readers for a small sum.  What a bargain.  This award is meant to celebrate the marvelous device we call a book and to encourage their creation and consumption in the marketing field.”

Berry, founder of Texas A&M’s Center for Retailing Studies, and a Visiting Scientist at Mayo Clinic studying healthcare service, has been identified as the most frequent contributor to the services marketing literature in the United States.

Exceptional marketing books that have set the standard for excellence and that have been published within the previous three years (2015, 2016 or 2017 for the 2018 Prize) are eligible for consideration.  Marketing books published overseas are eligible if the book was published in English and was available for distribution in the United States.  Anthologies, textbooks, and manuals are not eligible to receive the award.

The Prize includes a cash award, plaque, and spotlight features on the AMA Website and in AMA publications.

Nominations should include:

  • the author’s name
  • the exact title of the marketing book
  • the date published, and
  • the publisher’s name

For complete award details, please visit the Leonard L. Berry Marketing Book Award page on

Winners - Berry-AMA Book Prize