About Us



Louis W. Stern Award

The Louis W. Stern Award, established by Louis W. and Rhona L. Stern in 1999 through the American Marketing Association Foundation (AMAF), recognizes the outstanding article, in a widely recognized and highly respected refereed journal, which has made a significant contribution to the literature on marketing and channels distribution.  Named for the John D. Gray Distinguished Professor of Marketing at the J.L. Kellogg Graduate School of Management at Northwestern University, the award is intended to encourage the academic community to continue to produce high quality academic research in the field of marketing channels and distribution.

Stern has been involved in the AMA for decades and has received numerous honors for his exceptional contributions to the marketing community, including 1989 Marketing Educator of the Year and 1994 AMA/Irwin Distinguished Marketing Educator Award.  Stern’s individual research efforts have resulted in published articles in a wide array of marketing, legal and behavioral science journals.  Stern has also been a consultant to several national companies including IBM, Ford, Hewlett Packard and S.C. Johnson.  He hopes that, with the continuous evolvement of the field of marketing this award will help people see how invaluable these individuals’ contributions are to developing the marketing community.


An article will be eligible for award consideration each year between three and eight calendar years after publication in a refereed journal in any applied or basic discipline.  Once the eight-year eligibility time has passed, an article will no longer be eligible for consideration.  Nomination of articles is accepted in March and April and a winner is selected in June.  The award is presented at the AMA Summer Educators’ Conference.

Selection Criteria

A panel of three judges select the winner. Each judge is to be either a member of the AMA Interorganizational Special Interest Group (SIG) or a recognized expert in the field.  These three judges are selected by the Chair of the Interorganizational Special Interest Group. Evaluation criteria used by the judges in reviewing articles for the Louis W. Stern Award include:

  • Quality of the article’s contribution to theory and practice.
  • Originality of the article.
  • Technical competence in the execution of the research.
  • Impact on the field of channels of distribution.

Recipients - Louis W. Stern Award