About Us



Williams-Qualls-Spratlen (WQS) Award
Multicultural Mentoring Award of Excellence

(Nominations close April 6, 2018 )

The Williams-Qualls-Spratlen Multicultural Mentoring Award of Excellence (WQS) carries on the legacy of three world class marketing scholars, educators, and mentors of people of color: Jerome Williams, Prudential Chair in Business and Research Director-The Center for Urban Entrepreneurship & Economic Development (CUEED), Rutgers Business School - Newark and New Brunswick; William (Bill) Qualls, Professor of Marketing, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign; and Thaddeus H. Spratlen, Emeritus Professor of Marketing, at the Foster School of Business, University of Washington. Mentorship is one of the most important determinants of a successful career in marketing, yet it is often a component of career development that, while prized by recipients, is rarely rewarded. In recognition of the value the field of marketing places on mentorship, the WQS Award recognizes the outstanding mentors in the market community in the molds of Williams, Qualls, and Spratlen.

The purpose of the WQS Award is to encourage and reward outstanding mentors of people of color in the academic marketing community. Individuals receiving this Award will have demonstrated exceptional ability in guiding the academic and/or professional growth of his/her students and junior colleagues in marketing. Award recipients will have had a sustained career commitment to mentoring as well as a significant positive impact on their mentees’ careers. Moreover, through their mentees, they will have advanced research and education on issues where racial, ethnic, and cultural diversity intersect with the discipline and practice of marketing. By recognizing and rewarding such efforts, this Award can help to make a difference in facilitating the success for students and emerging scholars by encouraging and recognizing the contributions of outstanding marketing scholars who have helped to create opportunities for success.

Past Recipients

For complete award details, please visit the Williams-Qualls-Spratlen (WQS) Award page on